Home › Privacy › Best secure email 2026
Privacy · New October 2026Best secure email providers 2026: ranked on facts
- Oct 2026 — Page published: 6 providers compared from verified pricing, program terms, and free-tier records.
Our method, in one paragraph
This niche is more auditable than VPNs: pricing pages are public, privacy policies are public, jurisdiction law is public, open-source status is verifiable on GitHub, and audit reports are named PDFs. So that's what we rank on. We count what can be counted — free-tier limits, stated jurisdictions, published program terms — and we flag what we couldn't verify instead of inventing it. These are launch assessments from published records, not lab scores: hands-on testing is pending, so audit and encryption rows are marked honestly below rather than filled with borrowed claims.
How we monetize: StartMail pays us ~$24–60 per sale (100% of first-year net sales value, 45-day cookie — verified on their affiliate page). Mailfence's program exists but its rate is unpublished until approval. Tuta and Posteo pay nothing and stay in our rankings anyway. Full details: the money table.
The six, side by side
| StartMail | Proton Mail | Tuta | Mailfence | Posteo | Hushmail | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Personal $59.88/yr; Business $83.88/yr | Not stated in research — verify at checkout | Not stated in research — verify at checkout | Entry ~€3.50/mo; Pro/Ultra higher (Ultra revenue partially donated to digital-rights orgs) | Not stated in research — verify at checkout | Not stated in research — verify at checkout |
| Free tier | 7-day free trial (no permanent free tier per research) | 1 GB free tier (per research free-tier comparison) | 1 GB free tier (per research free-tier comparison) | 500 MB free tier (per research free-tier comparison) | No free tier (per research free-tier comparison — 'no data-harvesting incentive') | 28-day trial for referrals (no permanent free tier per research) |
| Jurisdiction | Netherlands | Switzerland | Germany | Belgium | Germany | Canada |
| Open source / audits | Not yet inventoried — lab pending | Not yet inventoried — lab pending | Not yet inventoried — lab pending | Not yet inventoried — lab pending | Not yet inventoried — lab pending | Not yet inventoried — lab pending |
| Renewal prices | Renewal prices not yet inventoried — tracked on /privacy/email-renewal-prices/. Verify at checkout. | Renewal prices not yet inventoried — verify at checkout. | Verify at checkout. | Renewal prices not yet inventoried — verify at checkout. | Verify at checkout. | Verify at checkout. |
Prices from official pricing pages checked October 2026; promotional and renewal rates differ — verify at checkout.
The money table — what we earn, disclosed
Every privacy page on RankedTrue carries this disclosure. Here it is in table form, so you can audit it:
| Provider | Commission | $/sale | Cookie | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| StartMail | 100% of first-year Net Sales Value | ~$24–$60/sale | 45 days (confirmed) | Direct program; explicitly welcomes comparison and review websites |
| Proton Mail | $0 for consumer Mail Plus (Business plans: 25%) | $0 consumer / 25% of net on Business | Not published in research | Apply as business entity; ask Partner Manager about custom consumer-Mail terms (do not forecast revenue) |
| Tuta | $0 — referral credits only, never paid out | $0 | N/A | Referral links may not be bulk-mailed or spammed |
| Mailfence | Rate UNPUBLISHED — disclosed after approval | Not stated — pending | Not published — disclosed after approval | Apply by email; perks include a free Entry account and beta access |
| Posteo | $0 — no program exists | $0 | N/A | N/A |
| Hushmail | B2B/healthcare-gated — deprioritized for this consumer family | ~$15–$200/sale range reported by third-party directories (unverified from primary source) | Unknown | Application targets healthcare/law practices — weak fit |
StartMail's commission is on net sales value — coupon-discounted sales pay less than full price, which is why we quote a range. Proton Mail's consumer-Mail-Plus eligibility is unverified from a primary source; Mailfence's rate is disclosed only after approval.
Our verdicts, briefly
StartMail — the privacy-per-dollar pick
The strongest paid option for the privacy-focused buyer: Dutch jurisdiction, a real alias system, and transparent published pricing (Personal $59.88/yr). It's also the provider whose affiliate program is fully verified — 100% of first-year net sales value with a 45-day cookie — which means recommending it honestly also keeps this site running. Full StartMail review →
Proton Mail — the trusted baseline
The name most people already know, and usually for good reasons: the largest feature set, open-source clients, and a 1 GB free tier for testing before you migrate. We rank it on merit, not money — its consumer affiliate terms are unverified, so treat it as the neutral yardstick. Proton Mail vs Tuta →
Tuta — the genuinely free one
The free baseline of the niche, like Duolingo in language learning: 1 GB free, genuinely private, and a referral program that pays credits — never cash. We earn $0 from Tuta and rank it anyway, because leaving out the best free option would make these rankings less honest.
Mailfence — the Belgium dark horse
Belgian jurisdiction, a 500 MB free tier, and an Entry plan around €3.50/mo. Its affiliate program is confirmed (free-plan upgrades still count), but the rate isn't published — we'll update the money table the day approval lands. See alternatives →
Posteo — the no-free-tier purist
No free tier, no investors, no advertising partners — financed entirely by account fees. There's a real argument that “no free tier” means no data-harvesting incentive. No affiliate program exists; covered for completeness.
Hushmail — not for this audience
Its program is B2B/healthcare-gated (20% of first-year plan value for practice audiences), which makes it a weak fit for a consumer privacy review site. Covered for completeness; deprioritized in our rankings.
Deep dives in this family
- Best encrypted email 2026 — The encryption-model angle: E2EE-by-default vs OpenPGP bring-your-own-keys vs TLS-only 'secure' pretenders.
- Proton Mail vs Tuta — Head-to-head on jurisdiction, metadata (subject-line encryption, IP logging), and pricing — the two free tiers, judged fairly.
- StartMail review 2026 — Deep review of the paying product: alias system, PGP usability, and what 100%-of-year-one actually means for you.
- Proton Mail alternatives — For switchers: Tuta, Mailfence, StartMail, and Posteo ranked honestly with a 'who should actually switch' filter.
- Secure email jurisdictions, explained — The link-worthy asset: Switzerland, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Canada, and Australia scored on law, not marketing.
- Email renewal-price database — Sticker vs renewal vs coupon-distorted net — the database extending our VPN renewal-price pattern to email.
Questions, answered
Which secure email provider is actually the best in 2026?
Do you earn a commission on all these providers?
Is 'secure email' the same as 'encrypted email'?
Why do you rank jurisdiction as a separate column?
Should I worry about renewal prices for email like I do for VPNs?
Is switching my email address actually worth the hassle?
Get pinged when a real privacy deal lands
We track secure-email pricing alongside VPN prices. One email when a genuine price drop — below the baselines above — appears. No spam, no fake urgency.